Alicia Keys on Facebook
Hello everyone,
Does anyone know if Alicia Keys has an authentic facebook profile? I already know about her Alicia Keys band page and I can tell that's authentic, but what I'm not sure about is whether she has an ACTUAL personal profile on Facebook. There's a difference. I've looked all over this site, but the only verified social networking mentioned is Twitter, which I'm aware of. Her official Alicia Keys band page on facebook is not even mentioned. Plus, given the fact that her last blog was posted way back in Feb gives me the impression that this site may not have been updated for quite a while.
Anyways, I digress. This is why I'm asking about a personal profile. I am very active on Alicia's band page and often comment on just about every post made (basically because there's not that many of them). One day I get a friend request (as in the request was sent to me, not the other way around) from an "Alicia Augello Keys" from Facebook. I did a double take like, what?? Alicia Keys???? So, after the double take I'm like...whatevs...this is so fake! But then I decided to check out the profile to see if I could get a feel for whether it's real or fake just by looking at it. The first thing that stood out to me when I clicked on the page was a logo right underneath her picture that read, "OFFICIAL CELEBRITY" in all caps and had a bar code above it. Underneath, was a copyright symbol containing Alicia's name with the words, "original and official" underneath. I saw another note that said, "if you do not believe this is me please don't add me" or something like that. The profile looked like it had just been created and all the pics on there were just thumbnail images...that was my first red flag. Well, I decided to take a chance and go ahead and add her. So I sent the alleged Alicia Keys a message telling her how much I loved her music and that I had been a fan since her first album. Of course, this was a test to get a feel for the response. Well, this AKeys responded, but I found the response uninspiring. It was just the basic thanks for being a fan, I'll try to respond but I'm busy...yadda yadda yadda. It just seemed canned...so that was another red flag. But then I thought, if this isn't the real Alicia Keys how could she have an official celebrity logo on the page? I'm thoroughly confused. I know some people will believe this is real simply because they want to, but I want to know if I'm really interacting with the REAL A Keys or not. It does seem kind of surreal that with as busy as she's been making TV appearances lately that she'd have time to seek me out of a quadruple drillion people who are her fans on FB. But, like I said, I do wonder about that bar code. If anyone knows for sure if she has a real personal profile or not, or if this one is it, please let me know. Here's the url I have in case you want to see it: http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/profile.php?id=100001315320536&v=info&ref=ts
Thanks, this is driving me crazy!!! LOL.








Comentarios for this Forum Topic
No, it's not her, she wouldn't have only 8 friends if it were her!

Check out this url, also on Facebook, the chances are high that this is the real SHE:
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001315320536&v=info&ref=ts#!/profile.php?id=1184857962&ref=ts
That's the same url that I posted. It took me back to the one I was talking about. Did you intend to post a different link? If so...please post it again. Thanks!
MrsMusic,
Take a close look at the urls again, they are not the same. Here they are for a comparison:
This is the url in your post, copied and pasted into my browser, broken up into sections for easier comparison:
http: //www.facebook.com
/home.php?#!
/profile.php
?id=100001315320536
&v=info
&ref=ts
Which led me to:
http://www.facebook.com/people/Alicia-Augello-Keys/100001315320536
Now, the person who responded to you had this url, which I copied and pasted into my browser, again broken up into sections:
http: //www.facebook.com
/profile.php
?id=100001315320536
&v=info
&ref=ts#!
/profile.php
?id=1184857962
&ref=ts
Which led me to:
http://www.facebook.com/people/Alicia-J-Augello-Cook/1184857962
Notice the difference in the name, one uses her birth name Alicia J. Augello-Cook, while the other references her stage name.
I have this tendency to believe that the respondent to your post may have the `real` profile.
You are right for being skeptical, celebrities' pages on Facebook and their twitter accounts are tempting targets for low life hackers and spammers. Unfortunately, the only effective way to combat them is in their permanent removal from the human gene pool.